International schools

In the Netherlands, there are four types of international schools:

  • government-funded Dutch schools with an international education department;
  • private international schools;
  • foreign national schools;
  • schools associated with embassies.

[Source: Study, Internationaal onderwijs in Nederland, Regioplan, 2016]

An international school follows either an international curriculum, or a curriculum that is in line with the educational system and legislation of a specific country other than the Netherlands. These schools are mainly attended by foreign children.

The 'Checklist International Schools' will help choosing a school.

Overview of international schools in the region:

Elckerlyc International Primary School 

The British School in the Netherlands

Het Rijnlands Lyceum International Secondary 

Sekolah Indonesia 
The American School of The Hague (ASH)

Boarding schools (with Leiden bus service for weekly boarders)
International School Eerde

Netherlands wide
The Foundation for International Education in the Netherlands has the full list of international schools in the country.