shareyourstorykimberly.jpgName: Kimberly Knight Laskowski
Age: 51
Company: calmish.org

Where are you from? 

United States

How long have you been living in the Netherlands? 

More than a year

What is the main difference between your country of origin and the Netherlands? 

I feel as if in this country the emphasis is on people over profit unlike the United States. I also feel far safer and more well rounded in my work/life balance. In addition to my full time job at an international school that I love, I have time to explore creating meaningful projects of my own like calmish.org.

What would you miss about the Netherlands if you were to leave tomorrow?

The people and places that I have come to love here. The freedom to live fully as myself openly and without fear as a woman married to a woman. I would deeply miss never feeling afraid or worried about my safety or comfort in any situation. I would miss being as utterly boring as any other old married couple.

How would you describe the Dutch people? 

Cautious when making friends, but transparent and honest in a way that is refreshing and ultimately makes for good friends with no silly head games. I also value the "live and let live" mentality that allows everyone to be themselves as long as it is not tangibly hurting others.

Could you recommend any blogs or websites concerning the Netherlands?

I enjoy the Invading Holland blog. Funny and insightful

Do you have any tips for new arrivals in the Leide region?

Be open to learning about the culture and people without judging according to your own culture. Listen and learn, and try new things with an open mind and heart. Get outside every single day that the weather is nice! DO eat all the stroopwafels DON"T try drop ;)