Name: Iwona Dost-Góreckaiwona_dost_gorecka2.jpg
Age: 41
Company: My Beautiful Pictures Photography

How long have you been living in the Netherlands? 

8 years


What brought you to the Netherlands, initially? 

My husband comes from the Netherlands and I come from Poland. After living in the USA for over a decade we decided to move to the Netherlands. We chose Leiden as our new place and have been very happy with this choice.

What is the main difference between your country of origin and the Netherlands? 

The most visible difference is the entire infrastructure for bikes that is present here and many sportive people exercising outdoors. Excellent education system, health care system and how life in the Netherlands is efficiently organized are the other significant differences. People here have many more choices, resources, support that make their life easy and well balanced.

What would you miss most about the Netherlands if you were to leave tomorrow?

I would definitely miss the lifestyle: riding my bike everywhere and the short commuting distances, the outdoor active culture, beautiful city center, canals and all events offered for each season in Leiden, little local specialty shops, where we buy our groceries and the friendliness of people.

How would you describe the Dutch people?

Enjoying their life and making their best out of every sunshine they get here by being outdoors whenever possible whether involved in a sport activity or soaking in the sun on the terraces, in parks or dining in front of their houses on the streets. The Dutch are very friendly, helpful, and attentive. They like to be organized and to have a structure. I am impressed by the amount of foreign languages most of the Dutch speak and different hobbies that they are passionate about.

Could you recommend any blogs or websites concerning the Netherlands?