Mandatory quarantine for travellers from more countries with Delta variant

15 June 2021

If you return form the UK, Bangladesh, Myanmar, and Nepal from 15 June onwards, you must go into mandatory quarantine.

As of 00:01 15 June, travellers from the UK, Bangladesh, Myanmar, and Nepal must go into mandatory quarantine on arrival in the Netherlands. These countries are labelled high risk by the RIVM due to the Delta variant, which is circulating in these countries. 

During their journey, they must also be in possession of an accurate and fully completed quarantine declaration. Travellers who do not comply with the mandatory quarantine requirement can be fined €339. Travellers who cannot present a quarantine declaration may be fined €95.

Additional requirments

People travelling to the Netherlands from these countries by air or sea must be able to present a negative PCR test, which is no longer than 72 hours old. Moreover, they must provide a negative rapid test results based on a sample collected no more than 24 hours before going abroad. 

The requirement to present a negative NAAT (PCR) test result and the mandatory quarantine requirement also apply to people travelling to the Netherlands by international train or coach or in a private vehicle.


Lorry drivers and other people working in the transport industry are exempted from the mandatory quarantine requirement and the requirement to show a negative NAAT (PCR) test result and/or negative rapid test result.


Do keep in mind that travelling abroad is still a risk, and will remain so. Consult (in Dutch) regularly for the latest developments and travel advice.

More information on travelling during the pandemic can be found here